Denmark: Hindbærsnitter

To Denmark!
denmark-flag

The obvious choice of a baked good to make for Denmark would be a danish, but I apparently decided I was too good for danishes and decided to make Hindbærsnitter instead…a thing I don’t even know how to pronounce! But it looks good and is apparently pretty common in Denmark!

IMG_3902

At first glance they look kinda like home made Poptarts. But…you don’t put them in a toaster. They were fun to make and decorate but…whoa are these sweet! Like I like sweet but…these are like pure sugar with some jam, sweet. I’m not a huge fan of sugar+water glaze. I want some flavorings in it or…something to make it more than just sugar! Other than that though, the cookie was pretty good! Kinda like a mix of sugar cookie and pie crust.

I took a little creative freedom with this recipe, since it was so simple. Traditionally, these are filled with raspberry jam, with hundreds-and-thousands (those tiny little colorful sprinkle balls) sprinkled on top. I personally am not a huge fan of raspberry, so I stole a little bit of my roommate’s blueberry jam and made some blueberry filled Hindbærsnitter. I topped them not with sprinkles, but with some lemon-sugar glaze, candied lemon peal and crushed dried hibiscus flowers for a bit of color. Aaaand then I decided I wanted to incorporate a piece of my own background into this recipe, so with some extra dough, I made Hindbærsnitter filled with some Mennonite made Applebutter from home, and I topped it with a swirl of cinnamon sugar glaze, and crushed pistachios.

IMG_3906

This was a pretty easy recipe, not much challenge in it, but it was recommended by a Dane so…it took priority on my list of Danish baked goods. All you really do is make the cookie crusts, bake them, spread a layer of jam on, spread the glaze and sprinkle on the decorations. Pretty easy.Which is why I tried to spruce it up with other flavors and decoration options. I would also like to try made Rugbrød, which is a super classic Danish rye bread. The only reason I stepped away from that one right away is that is tends to have flax seeds in it…which my roommate is highly allergic to. So I will try make it later when I can insure that I wont get flax seeds in anything else! I have most of the ingredients already, so maybe I can try that soon!

The only real challenging thing for this recipe was cutting them into clean wedges/slices! They kinda kept cracking, even though I was cutting them warm (which the recipe said to do!) and I was using my new still-sharp chef’s knife! But alas.

IMG_3901

 

I did have fun coming up with the toppings for each one! The flavor of the pistachios with the apple butter went surprisingly well. I think in order of “This isn’t bad!” to “Shmehhh….” I would say I liked my own applebutter thing the best (SORRY!!) followed by the blueberry one, since the blueberry was nicely tart with the super sweetness of the whole thing. The lemon glaze was a nice flavor addition. And lastly…the traditional raspberry one. But it was already at a disadvantage because I’m not a huge fan of raspberry…:/

IMG_3885
Most of my ingredients,  ready to go!
IMG_3889
And I got to use my brand spanking new food processor!! 
IMG_3890
Getting the dough the right size!
IMG_3894
This was for the Apple Butter one, I added some cinnamon, cloves and allspice onto the dough for a little added flavor. 
IMG_3896
Prepping the toppings
IMG_3897
cookie crusts baked!

IMG_3898IMG_3900IMG_3907IMG_3904IMG_3912IMG_3909

 

And since I haven’t provided my Danish current events yet, here are a few things happening in the recent news for Denmark!-
-Denmark has put in a bid to host the start of the Tour de France, for those of you interested in such things. The Tour de France has never been so far north, but apparently bicycling is popular in Denmark, much as it is in Amsterdam?? I guess more people use bikes in Copenhagen than any city in the world so…that’s cool.
-Again the EU Referendum/”Brexit” is popping up in the headlines, and according to a BBC article, Britain questioning whether or not they want to stay in the EU is making Denmark question the same thing, and they are tempted to look at their own referendum?? From the video in the article, it seems Danes think a referendum could potentially be a good idea, but…not totally sure what the outcome would be or what it could mean. You can check it out here if you are also interested in this…
-There has been a bit of anti-immigrant action going on in Denmark via road signs. There have been signs put up under actual official road signs directing middle eastern immigrants back towards their home countries… As in an arrow shape sign with the number of kilometers to that country. For example “Syria – 4,426 km” pointing in one direction. Or “Iraq- 5,317 km” pointing in the direction of Iraq. These signs have been causing controversy for obvious reasons…and if I may add in my American two-cents, this makes me a little sad! I’m not Danish so I don’t know the full situation there, but if its anything like refugees or illegal immigrants seeking shelter and refuge in my country, I say let em’ stay. But…I know I am very much opposed on that my a lot of people!

Anyway…Back to these  Hindbærsnitter!! Once again, please check out the original source of the recipe I used, found >HERE<

And here is the recipe:

Raspberry Slices (Hindbærsnitter)
Prep time: 60 mins  Cook time: 12 mins  Total time: 1 hour 12 mins
An old Danish biscuit/cake to have with your afternoon coffee.
Author: Bronte Aurell
Recipe type: Fika
Cuisine: Danish
Serves: 14
Ingredients
  • 350g plain flour
  • 200g cold butter
  • 125g icing sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla sugar or seeds from one vanilla pod
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1 egg
  • 200g good quality raspberry jam (i often add mashed raspberries to mine to make the result a bit more tart)
  • 250g icing sugar
  • Toppings of your choice (chopped nuts, freeze dried raspberries, hundreds-and-thousands)
Instructions
  1. In a food processor, add the cubed cold butter and flour and sugar. Blits a few times to start the mixing.
  2. Add the remaining ingredients and blitz again until the dough starts forming. It’s done as soon as it is smooth and holds together.
  3. Pop the dough in the fridge for 30 minutes to rest – this will make it easier to roll out.
  4. On a floured surface, add half the dough and roll out to 25 x 25 cm. Transfer to a lined baking tray.
  5. Repeat with the second piece of dough.
  6. Pop both trays in the fridge again for 10-15 minutes.
  7. Turn the oven to 200C/400F/GM5
  8. Bake until golden (10-12 minutes, depending in your oven), then remove from the oven and leave to cool for just a few minutes.
  9. Meanwhile, prepare your icing: Add the icing sugar to a bowl and add 2-4 tablespoons of hot water – you may need more water than this, but start with 3-4. Stir, adding more water if needed, until you have a thick icing with the texture of syrup (i.e. not too runny).
  10. On the still slightly warm pastry, add the jam and spread carefully and evenly all over. Add the second pastry on top so it lines up.
  11. Carefully, using a spatula, smear the icing across the large cake. If your icing is too thick, it wont work – and too runny, it will spill everywhere, so test a little corner first and adjust accordingly.
  12. As soon as you have spread your icing, add your toppings.
  13. You have two choices at this point: Cut while pastry is a little bit warm (this is easier) – or pop the entire thing in the fridge to harden up and then carefully cut to precision when cold. Either way, when you cut, do so with a sharp big knife, in clean precise swoops.
  14. First, cut all the sides off so you have an even cake – then cut into 10-16 pieces (depending on how big you prefer them to be). We cut 14 from this recipe.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Beautiful creations, especially the two “creative freedom” versions.Yay for MCC Sale applebutter!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

