Luxembourg: Äppelkuch

If there’s anything bad about this project, it’s that it has made my wanderlust much stronger. After researching Luxembourg, WHO WOULDN’T WANT TO GO THERE?? I MEAN LOOK AT THIS PLACE!!

Who wants to go with me????

Ok anyway…LUXEMBOURG!!
Luxembourg_flag
I really didn’t know much about Luxembourg, other than it is a small country in Europe, and sounds like a fancy place. 😉 Also, their food sounds fantastic. A Luxembourg native recommended Fueskichelcher (which has an incredibly fun sounding name at least) when I asked for common pastries, but I discovered those are more like doughnuts, rather than something baked. (I do want to try them though because…well deep fried and topped with sugar, I see no down sides.)

IMG_3560

So I decided to try this apple cake. I couldn’t really find much on the origins of this apple cake, so I’m hoping this is actually something that is made in Luxembourg….if not, well…then I just have a delicious apple cake sitting on my dining room table.

This was a very interesting recipe to me. I’ve never quite made something using this particular method before. (Yay learning! The main purpose of this adventure!) You basically make a pie crust, press it into the bottom of the pan, press in the apple slices, then pour a mixture of eggs, sugar and milk over top and bake it. The liquid soaks into the crust, making it fluffy, cakey and moist, and the apples sit nicely on top. Mine ended up with almost a thin custard layer on the very bottom of the cake…not sure if that was supposed to happen or not.

IMG_3583

Let me just say something about this cake: It is delicious. I could just stop with that, but…well no. No I can’t just stop with that. The cake itself reminded me a little bit of a shortcake?? I was reminded a little of the strawberry shortcake my mom used to make. But…covered in apples (I used McIntosh apples). Apples are not my personal favorite fruit to combine with baked goods, I tend to prefer cherries, or strawberries. But this…I would happily make this again.

IMG_3540
AREN’T THESE APPLES SO PRETTY?!?!

I finished this cake around lunch time, and wanted to just go ahead and try it before I ate any food of actual nutrition for lunch, because I’m impatient. So I cut myself a piece Äppelkuch, and vowed to only eat that until I ate “real” food. Apparently though, my abilities to make lasting vows are hindered when it involves food. I had two pieces.

And then I realized I forgot to put the apricot glaze on top, so, obviously I had to try another piece.

IMG_3537IMG_3538

An no, I can’t not play with my food.

IMG_3542IMG_3544IMG_3550

IMG_3555
I dont think I blended the egg and milk mixture well enough…

IMG_3588IMG_3559IMG_3601

After putting on the glaze…better late than never!

If anyone would like to know where I got this recipe,  along with a bit more info and recipe notes than I’m sharing, here is the link: CLICK ME CLICK ME!

Ingredients:

Dough:

2 cups flour
2 tablespoon sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 stick (½ cup) salted butter, cubed
1/2 cup milk

2 apples, peeled, cored, and sliced into 1/4 inch pieces, or thinner.

Topping:

2 eggs
1 cup milk
3/4 cup sugar

Garnish:

apricot jam or jelly thinned with a little hot water
Powdered sugar
cinnamon

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375F.
  2. In the bowl of a food processor fitted with dough blade, add flour, sugar and baking powder. Pulse to combine.
  3. Add hunks of butter and pulse until pea sized pieces form.
  4. While pulsing, stream in the milk until a soft, shaggy dough forms one that can easily be pressed together into a ball.
  5. Take the dough and press it into a greased and floured 8″ cake pan.
  6. Then slice the apples and press them firmly into the dough, overlapping as you go.
  7. Whisk together the topping ingredients and pour it on top of the cake.
  8. Bake for 35-45 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.
One Comment Add yours

  1. toshareblog says:

    Looks delicious!

    Like

Leave a Reply

